Re: UCEPROTECT - Notice to the DDOS generators
  Home FAQ Contact Sign in
news.admin.netabuse.email only
 
Advanced search
POPULAR GROUPS

more...

 Up
Re: UCEPROTECT - Notice to the DDOS generators         

Group: news.admin.netabuse.email · Group Profile
Author: Vernon Schryver
Date: Oct 14, 2007 13:31

In article ,
Claus v. Wolfhausen spamkiller.uceprotect.net> wrote:
>>>Where did we ever say you are not allowed to use for scoring?
>>>We did say: YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO CHANGE REJECT MESSAGES.
>>>
>>>If you do not reject, then you are not changing, are you?
>>
>>Contrary to that silly statement, "scoring" and "rejecting" are not
>>contradictory. Many SMTP servers "score" during SMTP transactions and
>>so can reject based on DNSBLs. For example, scoring with SpamAssassin
>>is often done with `spamd` during SMTP transactions and so causes
>>rejections. See http://www.google.com/search?q=spamd+spamassassin
>
>Yes and they can link to www.blacklistalert.org, because it contains all
>major dnsbls and also rhsbls, and links to them on listings.

Is Claus von Wolfhausen changing his claim that "scoring" and "rejecting"
cannot happen at the same time? Never mind
- whether he actually knows all major blacklists for whatever
he defines as "major"

- the unnecessary neologism of "rhsbls" distinct from "dnsbl."

- the general seriousness and competence as opposed to performance
artistry shown by the redirection from http://blacklistalert.org
to http://www.nsa.gov/ instead of to http://www.blacklistalert.org

- the incredibly lame CAPTCHA on http://www.blacklistalert.org/
(Not "Captcha (sic)" because CAPTCHA is an acronym.)

- whether his competition would consider labeling their results
as if they were those of blacklistalert.org as not re-badging.
>>Besides, judging from reports of rejected mail I've seen, many and
>>probably most SMTP servers do not mention DNSBLs that cause rejections
>>in their 5yz status messages.
>
>It is possible, but pure speculation.

In this cases my judgement is not "pure speculation." "Most" is
not supported by a solid survey, since I'm not a spammer, and so I
can only assert "many" as fact. "Most" is supported by some little
experience.
>>Blacklistalert.org,is merely another face of uceprotect.net. Both are
>>based in Muenchen, DE and owned by Admins WebSecurity GbR. So if a
>>mail sender is listed by SORBS, UCEPROTECT, and Spamhaus, Claus von
>>Wolfhausen generously allows people to mention another face of his own
>>outfit but apparently neither SORBS nor Spamhaus.
>
>You didn't try to test an IP or domain there, did you?
>If listed, we tell them on which list and link to it, if it has a link in its
>TXT-Record.

Typing a lame CAPTCHA reach a second web page that has a whole bunch
of domain names in tiny print followed by "OK" or "LISTED! See why"
would not satisfy my no re-badging restrictions if I had any.
How stupid Claus von Wolfhausen think people are?
Isn't this the narcissistic silliness one would expect from Johann
Steigenberger?

And again, what's that about "scoring" and "rejecting" happening
together? Are we supposed to forget that the contrary claim.

Vernon Schryver vjs@rhyolite.com
no comments
diggit! del.icio.us! reddit!