SF Bay Packet Radio spam?
  Home FAQ Contact Sign in
news.admin.netabuse.email only
 
Advanced search
POPULAR GROUPS

more...

news.admin.netabuse.email Profile…
 Up
SF Bay Packet Radio spam?         


Author: Wombat
Date: May 7, 2008 05:53

Hmmm... I have had five spams from this IP range today, for various
things like this:

SPAM follows:

"Debt Help" visionhobble.com> Add Mobile Alert
To: womb**@yahoo.com.au
Subject: You Have Options To Eliminate Debt

Click Here To View Your Options And Get Advice

To update your preferences: http://visionhobble.com/a.asp
If you cannot view this email, you may copy this URL into your web
browser:
http://visionhobble.com/t/108267/39452/146089835/6N4A976Q9U/G1I90G

__________________________________________________________________

From here:

134.17.100.104 = [ ]

(Asked whois.arin.net:43 about +134.17.100.104)
Show full article (2.10Kb)
18 Comments
Re: SF Bay Packet Radio spam?         


Author: Cary
Date: May 7, 2008 07:01

On Wed, 7 May 2008 05:53:31 -0700 (PDT), Wombat yahoo.com.au>
wrote:
>
>
>I'll live to regret saying this, but, any ideas anyone?
>
>

Snotty has control of the range, block and forget it.
Cary
--
Your have the right to say whatever wish.
But just as you may not open my door to say it,
you also may not put it in my email box.
Your rights end when they meet my firewall.
no comments
Re: SF Bay Packet Radio spam?         


Author: fudo
Date: May 7, 2008 09:54

In article
<65b5bfcf-6a5c-4d64-8caf-b8d245599d42@x19g2000prg.googlegroups.com>,
Wombat yahoo.com.au> wrote:
> There is a strange posting about this here:
> http://www.47-usc-230c2.org/chapter2.html

What's so strange about that post?
--
signone
no comments
Re: SF Bay Packet Radio spam?         


Author: Catherine Jefferson
Date: May 7, 2008 10:23

fudo wrote:
> In article
> <65b5bfcf-6a5c-4d64-8caf-b8d245599d42@x19g2000prg.googlegroups.com>,
> Wombat yahoo.com.au> wrote:
>
>> There is a strange posting about this here:
>> http://www.47-usc-230c2.org/chapter2.html
>
> What's so strange about that post?

Yeah, I thought the same. Ron G is usually pretty clear what he's
posting about. In this case, the range that goes by "SF Bay Packet
Radio" at present belongs to a certain Westminster, Colorado-based bulk
emailer who was at one time not only on the SpamHaus ROKSO list, but #2
on the list. I don't know if Richter and/or partners tried to hide his
involvement or not, but I'm very suspicious.
Show full article (1.24Kb)
no comments
Re: SF Bay Packet Radio spam?         


Date: May 7, 2008 11:54

Cary wrote:
> On Wed, 7 May 2008 05:53:31 -0700 (PDT), Wombat yahoo.com.au>
> wrote:
>
>>
>> I'll live to regret saying this, but, any ideas anyone?
>>
>>
>
> Snotty has control of the range, block and forget it.
> Cary

But I'm confused (stuff the comments!), is this regularish spam or
did it arrive by way of a packet radio interface???

--

"I've also noted that a couple of my regular spammers
have pretty much switched over to phishing and 419s
from pecker pills and sawdust tablets." - Bar0
no comments
Re: SF Bay Packet Radio spam?         


Author: Cary
Date: May 7, 2008 12:30

On Wed, 07 May 2008 13:54:36 -0500, "WindsorFox"
gmail.com> wrote:
>Cary wrote:
>> On Wed, 7 May 2008 05:53:31 -0700 (PDT), Wombat yahoo.com.au>
>> wrote:
>>
>>>
>>> I'll live to regret saying this, but, any ideas anyone?
>>>
>>>
>>
>> Snotty has control of the range, block and forget it.
>> Cary
>
>
> But I'm confused (stuff the comments!), is this regularish spam or
>did it arrive by way of a packet radio interface???

Did Wombat's original post not make it in your server?
The one IP source mentioned 134.17.100.104
Show full article (1.48Kb)
no comments
Re: SF Bay Packet Radio spam?         


Date: May 7, 2008 16:08

Cary wrote:
> On Wed, 07 May 2008 13:54:36 -0500, "WindsorFox"
> gmail.com> wrote:
>
>> Cary wrote:
>>> On Wed, 7 May 2008 05:53:31 -0700 (PDT), Wombat yahoo.com.au>
>>> wrote:
>>>
>>>> I'll live to regret saying this, but, any ideas anyone?
>>>>
>>>>
>>> Snotty has control of the range, block and forget it.
>>> Cary
>>
>> But I'm confused (stuff the comments!), is this regularish spam or
>> did it arrive by way of a packet radio interface???
>
> Did Wombat's original post not make it in your server?
> The one IP source mentioned 134.17.100.104
> ...
Show full article (1.86Kb)
no comments
Re: SF Bay Packet Radio spam?         


Author: D. Stussy
Date: May 7, 2008 16:31

"Cary" wrote in message
news:ptv324tgo8pkpu8j2m1jn13cq67hd2k04h@4ax.com...
> On Wed, 07 May 2008 13:54:36 -0500, "WindsorFox"
gmail.com> wrote:
> ...
>
> Did Wombat's original post not make it in your server?
> The one IP source mentioned 134.17.100.104

Clearly fake, as amateur packet radio is assigned 44/8 and uses the domain
"ampr.org."
no comments
Re: SF Bay Packet Radio spam?         


Author: Cary
Date: May 7, 2008 16:44

On Wed, 07 May 2008 18:08:56 -0500, "WindsorFox"
gmail.com> wrote:
>. HTH did spam bag end up
>controlling the IPs of what I assume is a now defunct ham radio network?
>Now I understand the info in the afore mentioned web page.

Now there's the thousand dollar question. Did he just take them when
the network went defunct? Faking ownership and now it appears he's the
legit owner of the legacy range? Or did he buy the legacy range and
actually has a legit claim to it? There really is nothing preventing
selling legacy ranges like the control that can be brought by the
regional authorities on ranges under their control.

The topic came up here earlier. Although it didn't catch much comment
in the group.
KpCdnaElWojZJYvVnZ2dnUVZ_r6rnZ2d@surewest
--
Cary
Show full article (1.04Kb)
no comments
Re: SF Bay Packet Radio spam?         


Author: Dave Platt
Date: May 7, 2008 17:19

In article snarked.org>,
D. Stussy newsgroups.kd6lvw.ampr.org> wrote:
>> Did Wombat's original post not make it in your server?
>> The one IP source mentioned 134.17.100.104
>
>Clearly fake, as amateur packet radio is assigned 44/8 and uses the domain
>"ampr.org."

It's true that AMPR packet radio is assigned one big Class A network
number (and has been for years).

It would not surprise me if an entirely different group of hams
applied for, and were assigned a /16 at some point. Management of the
44/8 network has been rather a hit-or-miss matter for a long time, and
it's possible that some group of SF Bay hams decided to request an
independent block (perhaps with an eye towards making it globally
routable).

In any case, it does appear that some unauthorized party has managed
to hijack this /16 away from whomever was properly responsible for it
(if, that is, there was anyone still minding the store for it in the
first place... the original requestors may have gone AWOL).
Show full article (1.29Kb)
no comments
 
1 2