IP address blacklisted on APEWS... or not?
  Home FAQ Contact Sign in
news.admin.netabuse.blocklisting only
 
Advanced search
POPULAR GROUPS

more...

news.admin ... blocklisting Profile…
 Up
IP address blacklisted on APEWS... or not?         


Author: Maki
Date: Aug 17, 2007 08:25

The IP address of my company's mail server is shown as blacklisted on APEWS
when I do the www.dnsstuff.com spam check, but when I go to the APEWS web
page it says that the address is not listed.

Today we already had bounced mails and I believe that it was because of the
APEWS blacklist since we are not on any other list.

Can someone tell why are my addresses 213.147.99.45 and 213.147.99.42 (and
it seems the whole /24 subnet) shown on www.dnsstuff.com as blacklisted, but
when I go to the APEWS page it says that they are not?

Thanks!

--
Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting
are solely the responsibility of their author. Please
read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at
http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
20 Comments
Re: IP address blacklisted on APEWS... or not?         


Author: Hal Murray
Date: Aug 17, 2007 11:05

>The IP address of my company's mail server is shown as blacklisted on APEWS
>when I do the www.dnsstuff.com spam check, but when I go to the APEWS web
>page it says that the address is not listed.

APEWS is generally regarded as a poorly run list.
I'd be surprised if anybody is using it to block mail.
>Today we already had bounced mails and I believe that it was because of the
>APEWS blacklist since we are not on any other list.

Are there any hints in the rejection/bounce messages
that indicate APEWS?

What systems are bouncing your mail?
>Can someone tell why are my addresses 213.147.99.45 and 213.147.99.42 (and
>it seems the whole /24 subnet) shown on www.dnsstuff.com as blacklisted, but
>when I go to the APEWS page it says that they are not?

213.147.99.42 is listed for outscatter at
http://www.backscatterer.org

I call it "outscatter" rather than "backscatter" since it isn't
going back where it came from.

--
These are my opinions, not necessarily my employer's. I hate spam.
Show full article (1.27Kb)
no comments
Re: IP address blacklisted on APEWS... or not?         


Author: Shmuel (Seymour J.) Metz
Date: Aug 17, 2007 13:16

In , on 08/17/2007
at 03:25 PM, "Maki" said:
>The IP address of my company's mail server is shown as blacklisted on
>APEWS

Try fixing your configuration so that you don't bounce mail to forged
addresses.
>Today we already had bounced mails and I believe that it was because
>of the APEWS blacklist since we are not on any other list.

What does the rejection message say? Backscatter is a good enough
reason to block you.

--
Shmuel (Seymour J.) Metz, truly insane Spews puppet
<http://patriot.net/~shmuel>

I reserve the right to publicly post or ridicule any abusive
E-mail. Reply to domain Patriot dot net user shmuel+news to contact
me. Do not reply to spamtrap@library.lspace.org
Show full article (1.01Kb)
no comments
Re: IP address blacklisted on APEWS... or not?         


Author: Mooron
Date: Aug 18, 2007 06:04

On Aug 17, 11:25 am, "Maki" wrote:
> Can someone tell why are my addresses 213.147.99.45 and 213.147.99.42 (and
> it seems the whole /24 subnet) shown onwww.dnsstuff.comas blacklisted, but
> when I go to the APEWS page it says that they are not?

You can safely ignore it. Those IPs are not listed and no one
is their right mind is using APEWS anyway.

It appears dnsstuff is broken. It looks like dnsstuff is showing
the entire internet is blocked by APEWS. They must be using
the mirror at UCEPROTECT which is no longer functional.

- Mooron

--
Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting
are solely the responsibility of their author. Please
read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at
http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
no comments
Re: IP address blacklisted on APEWS... or not?         


Author: Andrzej Adam Filip
Date: Aug 18, 2007 06:54

"Maki" writes:
> The IP address of my company's mail server is shown as blacklisted on APEWS
> when I do the www.dnsstuff.com spam check, but when I go to the APEWS web
> page it says that the address is not listed.
>
> Today we already had bounced mails and I believe that it was because of the
> APEWS blacklist since we are not on any other list.
>
> Can someone tell why are my addresses 213.147.99.45 and 213.147.99.42 (and
> it seems the whole /24 subnet) shown on www.dnsstuff.com as blacklisted, but
> when I go to the APEWS page it says that they are not?

On dnsstuff.com page notice 2 "details"
1) In "test name" column - see text in the square brackts
APEWS [should not be used]
2) In "Details" column see TXT record fetched
TXT= "UCEPROTECT and SORBS have dropped the APEWS Mirrors. See
http://www.apews.org/?page=news"

dnsstuff.com seems to query "no longer valid" copy of APEWS lists that
listed everything to "encourage" people to stop use the copies.
Show full article (1.50Kb)
no comments
Re: IP address blacklisted on APEWS... or not?         


Author: David W. Hodgins
Date: Aug 18, 2007 06:54

On Fri, 17 Aug 2007 11:25:49 -0400, Maki wrote:
> The IP address of my company's mail server is shown as blacklisted on APEWS
> when I do the www.dnsstuff.com spam check, but when I go to the APEWS web
> page it says that the address is not listed.

From a lookup of *ANY* ip in the dnsstuf spam lookup,
TXT= "UCEPROTECT and SORBS have dropped the APEWS Mirrors. See http://www.apews.org/?page=news

dnsstuff should no longer be using the uceprotect or sorbs mirrors
of the apews list.

I've registered with dnsstuff, and sent them a message, asking them
when they will switch the apews lookup to l2.apews.org.

I'll followup here, when they respond.

Regards, Dave Hodgins

--
Change nomail.afraid.org to ody.ca to reply by email.
(nomail.afraid.org has been set up specifically for
use in usenet. Feel free to use it yourself.)
Show full article (1.11Kb)
no comments
Re: IP address blacklisted on APEWS... or not?         


Author: 1urk3r
Date: Aug 18, 2007 08:23

On Aug 17, 10:25 am, "Maki" wrote:
> The IP address of my company's mail server is shown as blacklisted on APEWS
> when I do thewww.dnsstuff.comspam check, but when I go to the APEWS web
> page it says that the address is not listed.
>
> Today we already had bounced mails and I believe that it was because of the
> APEWS blacklist since we are not on any other list.
>
> Can someone tell why are my addresses 213.147.99.45 and 213.147.99.42 (and
> it seems the whole /24 subnet) shown onwww.dnsstuff.comas blacklisted, but
> when I go to the APEWS page it says that they are not?

because the geniuses at uceprotect,
whose "apews" mirror dnsstuff.com are
still querying, have "wildcarded" the
zone. that is, the ENTIRE INTERNET
is "listed."

but uceprotect are not serving the "real"
"apews" "zone," so you see different
results on the apews "website."
Show full article (1.39Kb)
no comments
DNSStuff - APEWS - "don't use" lists         


Author: Al Iverson
Date: Aug 18, 2007 12:49

On Aug 18, 8:54 am, "David W. Hodgins" nomail.afraid.org>
wrote:
> On Fri, 17 Aug 2007 11:25:49 -0400, Maki wrote:
>> The IP address of my company's mail server is shown as blacklisted on APEWS
>> when I do thewww.dnsstuff.comspam check, but when I go to the APEWS web
>> page it says that the address is not listed.
>
> From a lookup of *ANY* ip in the dnsstuf spam lookup,
> TXT= "UCEPROTECT and SORBS have dropped the APEWS Mirrors. Seehttp://www.apews.org/?page=news
>
> dnsstuff should no longer be using the uceprotect or sorbs mirrors
> of the apews list.
>
> I've registered with dnsstuff, and sent them a message, asking them
> when they will switch the apews lookup to l2.apews.org.
>
> I'll followup here, when they respond.

I sent a direct email to their VP of Marketing, whom I have talked to
in the past.
Show full article (2.14Kb)
no comments
Re: DNSStuff - APEWS - "don't use" lists         


Author: Terry Austin
Date: Aug 18, 2007 21:52

Al Iverson gmail.com> wrote in
news:1187450504.239423.73230@j4g2000prf.googlegroups.com:
> On Aug 18, 8:54 am, "David W. Hodgins" nomail.afraid.org>
> wrote:
>> On Fri, 17 Aug 2007 11:25:49 -0400, Maki wrote:
>>> The IP address of my company's mail server is...
Show full article (2.51Kb)
no comments
Re: IP address blacklisted on APEWS... or not?         


Author: Claus v. Wolfhausen
Date: Aug 18, 2007 22:42

In article <1187384367.787177.136000@q3g2000prf.googlegroups.com>,
adambrower@gmail.com says...
>
>On Aug 17, 10:25 am, "Maki" wrote:
>> The IP address of my company's mail server is shown as blacklisted on APEWS
>> when I do thewww.dnsstuff.comspam check, but when I go to the APEWS web
>> page it says that the address is not listed.
>>
>> Today we already had bounced mails and I believe that it was because of the
>> APEWS blacklist since we are not on any other list.
>>
>> Can someone tell why are my addresses 213.147.99.45 and 213.147.99.42 (and
>> it seems the whole /24 subnet) shown onwww.dnsstuff.comas blacklisted, but
>> when I go to the APEWS page it says that they are not?
>
>because the geniuses at uceprotect,
>whose "apews" mirror dnsstuff.com are
>still querying, have "wildcarded" the
>zone. that is, the ENTIRE INTERNET
>is "listed." ...
Show full article (1.82Kb)
no comments
1 2 3