|
|
Up |
|
|
  |
Author: joneastwoodjoneastwood Date: Oct 9, 2007 09:52
2 of my 3 mail servers have been listed on backscatterer.org.
Looking at http://www.checkor.com/ for open realy tests none are open
realys:
They report
89.151.104.163 - 550 No such user here
89.151.104.164 - 503 This mail server requires authentication when
attempting to send to a non-local e-mail address.
89.151.104.172 - 503 This mail server requires authentication when
attempting to send to a non-local e-mail address.
looking at backscatterer.org example it seems only to be looking for
550 if it doesnt see that it lists you which it CRAP!
My servers have been setup like this for years and no other list has
complained!
so now I am held to ransom as I will either have to pay 50 euros to be
removed or wait 4 weeks which just isnt on!
anybody got any bright ideas!
|
| Show full article (1.03Kb) |
|
| | 22 Comments |
|
  |
Author: Claus v. WolfhausenClaus v. Wolfhausen Date: Oct 9, 2007 14:50
>89.151.104.163 - 550 No such user here
This IP IS CURRENTLY NOT LISTED in our Database.
>89.151.104.164 - 503 This mail server requires authentication when
>attempting to send to a non-local e-mail address.
This IP IS CURRENTLY LISTED in our Database.
A total of 5 Impacts were seen during this listing. Last was 2007/09/30 09:23
German time
>89.151.104.172 - 503 This mail server requires authentication when
>attempting to send to a non-local e-mail address.
This IP IS CURRENTLY LISTED in our Database.
A total of 8 Impacts were seen during this listing. Last was 2007/09/28 02:53
German time
>looking at backscatterer.org example it seems only to be looking for
>550 if it doesnt see that it lists you which it CRAP!
|
| Show full article (2.06Kb) |
|
| | no comments |
|
  |
Author: SethSeth Date: Oct 9, 2007 18:12
In article ,
Claus v. Wolfhausen spamkiller.uceprotect.net> wrote:
>Lets see this:
>
>Connected to 89.151.104.163.
>Escape character is '^]'.
>220 spiralweb8.spiralsites.com
>helo XXXXX.XXXXXX.XX
>250 spiralweb8.spiralsites.com Hello [XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX]
>mail from: listme-if-i-come-back@ uceprotect.net
>554 Sending address not accepted due to spam filter
>quit
>221 Service closing transmission channel
>Connection closed by foreign host.
>
>What intention could one have to block tests from uceprotect.net?
If he won't accept mail claiming to be from uceprotect.net, then he
won't backscatter to uceprotect.net. So he's avoiding backscattering
to you with a blunt axe.
|
| Show full article (0.98Kb) |
| no comments |
|
  |
Author: manitobaminingmanitobamining Date: Oct 10, 2007 05:15
How is asking for verification of sender backscatter? It's not going
to send a NDR, it's going to drop the connection...
can you clear this up in simple english, as it's confusing why a 550
is ok and not a 503, which is what most locked down mail servers will
respond with... it's not rejecting mail and therefore a bounce, it's
asking for authentication...
just want to avoid getting on what seems to be a list used by some of
the big ISPs.
On Oct 10, 2:12 am, se...@ panix.com (Seth) wrote:
> In article ,
> Claus v. Wolfhausen spamkiller.uceprotect.net> wrote:
>
>>Lets see this:
>
>>Connected...
|
| Show full article (1.77Kb) |
| no comments |
|
  |
Author: joneastwoodjoneastwood Date: Oct 10, 2007 08:29
.163 is not listed so why have you even tested that one!!!!
The records are older than 7 days so you should have removed then
anyway FREE of charge!!
Rather than sit there all high and mighty telling me "> You have no
idea how backscatterer.org works."
Instead tell me what needs to be done exactly as I am not allowing
back scatter as far as i can see as my mail server tells the mail
server that this server requires authentication as you are not a valid
user, it just doest report 550 but 503.
|
| |
| no comments |
|
  |
Author: Claus v. WolfhausenClaus v. Wolfhausen Date: Oct 10, 2007 08:29
In article reader1.panix.com>, sethb@panix.com says...
>
>If he won't accept mail claiming to be from uceprotect.net, then he
>won't backscatter to uceprotect.net. So he's avoiding backscattering
>to you with a blunt axe.
The problem this guy didn't relize is, that there are some thousand domains
reporting backscatter to our center database.
It is ridiculously to see what such people try to aviod getting caught be us,
instead of fixing their backscatter problem.
I have even seen some "wise guys" firewalling IP of our webserver
and after that wondering why they can no longer check their IP's
in our lookup tool.
--
Claus von Wolfhausen
UCEPROTECT-Projektleitung
http://www.uceprotect.net
|
| Show full article (0.97Kb) |
| no comments |
|
  |
Author: Claus v. WolfhausenClaus v. Wolfhausen Date: Oct 10, 2007 09:21
>
>.163 is not listed so why have you even tested that one!!!!
>
>The records are older than 7 days so you should have removed then
>anyway FREE of charge!!
>Rather than sit there all high and mighty telling me "> You have no
>idea how backscatterer.org works."
>
>Instead tell me what needs to be done exactly as I am not allowing
>back scatter as far as i can see as my mail server tells the mail
>server that this server requires authentication as you are not a valid
>user, it just doest report 550 but 503.
|
| Show full article (1.26Kb) |
| no comments |
|
  |
Author: SethSeth Date: Oct 10, 2007 12:28
In article ,
Claus v. Wolfhausen spamkiller.uceprotect.net> wrote:
>In article reader1.panix.com>, sethb@panix.com says...
>
>>If he won't accept mail claiming to be from uceprotect.net, then he
>>won't backscatter to uceprotect.net. So he's avoiding backscattering
>>to you with a blunt axe.
>
>The problem this guy didn't relize is, that there are some thousand domains
>reporting backscatter to our center database.
Blunt axes are not safe tools to use. I didn't say he was being
smart, just suggesting a possible motive.
>It is ridiculously to see what such people try to aviod getting caught be us,
>instead of fixing their backscatter problem.
>
>I have even seen some "wise guys" firewalling IP of our webserver
>and after that wondering why they can no longer check their IP's
>in our lookup tool.
Their purpose in life is to provide amusement for the clueful.
|
| Show full article (1.19Kb) |
| no comments |
|
  |
Author: joneastwoodjoneastwood Date: Oct 10, 2007 12:32
The listing for 89.151.104.164 on the 2007/09/30 09:23
Only shows me this in my SMTP logs
09/30/07 04:23:05 SMTP-OU 38254065330F4B88BE4967B1E7CC6B70.MAI 5520
77.37.6.37 RCPT RCPT TO: coyote2.com> 550 UCEPROTECT-Policy
Server decided: 550 (V4.03-RULE-0205) Backscatter is abusive. Visit
http://www.backscatterer.org/ to find out how to fix your problem. 32
188 Message Delivery Failure
09/30/07 04:23:05 SMTP-OU 38254065330F4B88BE4967B1E7CC6B70.MAI 5520
77.37.6.37 QUIT QUIT - 6 0 Message Delivery Failure
So are you saying if I pay the 50 euros you wont remove me as its not
fixed? will i simply be listed again?
Like I keep telling you, How can I verify I am not sending back
scatter? I have checked the open relays and they are all fine, I have
looked in my smtp logs like you suggest and all it says is what I list
above? Are you simply saying because my MTA doesnt conform to your 550
standards, until it does return a 550 I will be listed.
|
| Show full article (1.21Kb) |
| no comments |
|
  |
|
|
  |
Author: SethSeth Date: Oct 10, 2007 13:01
>How is asking for verification of sender backscatter?
Where is asking for verification of sender involved? The receiver
said "You claim to be X. I don't like X. Goodbye."
Had the receiver _accepted_ the message, and then decided to bounce
it, the bounce would have gone to X. If the initial claim to be X was
false, that would be backscatter.
>can you clear this up in simple english, as it's confusing why a 550
>is ok and not a 503, which is what most locked down mail servers will
>respond with... it's not rejecting mail and therefore a bounce, it's
>asking for authentication...
503 is OK too. Backscatter is sending a _bounce_ message as a new
email message, to someone who didn't send the original message
(e.g. spam forgery victim).
Seth
|
| Show full article (1.12Kb) |
| no comments |
|
|
|
|
|
|