news.admin.netabuse.blocklisting
  Home FAQ Contact Sign in
Your Ad Here
news.admin.netabuse.blocklisting only
 
Advanced search
January 2008
motuwethfrsasuw
 123456 1
78910111213 2
14151617181920 3
21222324252627 4
28293031    5
2008
 Jan   Feb   Mar   Apr 
 May   Jun   Jul   Aug 
 Sep   Oct   Nov   Dec 
2008 2007    
total
news.admin ... blocklisting Profile…
RELATED GROUPS

POPULAR GROUPS

more...


 Up
  Re: BACKSCATTERER problem... We are an ISP         


Author: Larry M. Smith
Date: Jan 31, 2008 09:08

Martijn Lievaart wrote:
(snip)
>> Such discarding or "dead.letter" silliness goes against the published
>> SMTP specs.
>
> Yes and no.
>
> First and most important, the RFCs were written without massive spamruns
> in mind. So the argument that something is required by RFC, an argument I
> use in different situations myself quite often, is less applicable to
> todays Internet mailing systems.
>

Irrelevant. If you need to break SMTP in order to fix it; then you need
to either expand it via extensions, or scrap it and write another
transport for email. Either way you will need to write another set of
specs and hope the world also finds them useful.
Show full article (2.83Kb)
no comments
  BACKSCATTERER problem... We are an ISP         


Author: Parthe
Date: Jan 29, 2008 06:43

Whilst I fully appreciate the issues that backscatterer.org and other
RBLs have, what can ISPs like my company do? You won't delist us but
we don't control our customers mail servers.

I do my best to monitor the traffic that is pushed through my mail
servers, I can and do restrict the customers that spam the network but
by the time I do this the backscatter/spam is already forwarded and my
company's IP address is blacklisted, in this case for the next 28
days.

How do you justify this?

|\/|artin

--
Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting
are solely the responsibility of their author. Please
read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at
http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
27 Comments
  Turn off Callouts in Exchange Server         


Author: harlan.lax
Date: Jan 23, 2008 10:36

I am listed on this stupid site and I already checked that I was no
seneding NDRs, how do I check CALLOUTS on Exchange Server?

--
Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting
are solely the responsibility of their author. Please
read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at
http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
2 Comments
  E-306155 - 216.205.208.0/20         


Author: Derek Zint
Date: Jan 23, 2008 10:08

I work for a Mid-Western ISP serving several thousand residential, SMB and
large-enterprise customers. We have received recent customer complaints of
the inability to send e-mail to certain companies that subscribe to the
APEWS spam filtering solution.

Upon researching this problem, I discovered that the root cause of this
problem was that our entire 216.205.208.0/20 was listed on the APEWS
blacklist. This /20 is broken up into several smaller subnets and
distributed to hundreds of customers. My question is how was the entire /20
listed on this blacklist? We understand that specific customer subnets could
be listed because of actual spamming. However, this feels like our /20 was
aggressively listed in its entirety because of reported spamming from one or
a small handful of customers.

We feel that APEWS is inaccurately listing the IP addresses of several
non-spamming subscribers because of spam complaints from one of our smaller
subnets /32, /30, /29, etc. How is this a good way to stop spamming - by
penalizing the many due to the actions of the few? Please consider removing
the blacklist on this /18 network immediately. Thank you.

Oooops 216.205.208.0 is currently listed in APEWS :-(
Show full article (2.23Kb)
2 Comments
  E-231416 - 72.4.0.0/18         


Author: Derek Zint
Date: Jan 23, 2008 09:21

I work for a Mid-Western ISP serving several thousand residential, SMB and
large-enterprise customers. We have received recent customer complaints of
the inability to send e-mail to certain companies that subscribe to the
APEWS spam filtering solution.

Upon researching this problem, I discovered that the root cause of this
problem was that our entire 72.4.0.0/18 was listed on the APEWS
blacklist. This /18 is broken up into several smaller subnets and
distributed to hundreds of customers. My question is how was the entire /18
listed on this blacklist? We understand that specific customer subnets could
be listed because of actual spamming. However, this feels like our /18 was
aggressively listed in its entirety because of reported spamming from one or
a small handful of customers.

We feel that APEWS is inaccurately listing the IP addresses of several
non-spamming subscribers because of spam complaints from one of our smaller
subnets /32, /30, /29, etc. How is this a good way to stop spamming - by
penalizing the many due to the actions of the few? Please consider removing
the blacklist on this /18 network immediately. Thank you.

Oooops 72.4.0.3 is currently listed in APEWS :-(
Show full article (2.06Kb)
5 Comments
  Re: Where can I check to see if my IP address has been blocked?         


Author: Shmuel (Seymour J.) Metz
Date: Jan 23, 2008 05:37

In s13g2000prd.googlegroups.com>, on
01/20/2008
at 08:34 PM, beetlejuice citiconsulting.com.au> said:
>I was just wondering if anybody knows of any sites where I can see if my
>employer IP or the ISP IP address has been blocked?

You could start with http://www.completewhois.com/rbl_lookup.htm, but
there is no complete list for public blocking lists, much less private
lists. Your best bet is to ensure that your network is clean and that your
provider is clean. If you starft seeing abuse or security problems on your
providers network, expect to be affected sooner or later.

--
Shmuel (Seymour J.) Metz, truly insane Spews puppet
<http://patriot.net/~shmuel>

I reserve the right to publicly post or ridicule any abusive
E-mail. Reply to domain Patriot dot net user shmuel+news to contact
me. Do not reply to spamtrap@library.lspace.org
Show full article (1.15Kb)
no comments
  Help for blacklisting by APEWS         


Author: webmaster
Date: Jan 22, 2008 15:38

Hi
Can someone help us ?

Our website is a french commercial one for private sales, deco-
smart.com (193.25.197.206)

We don't spam, we just send to our clients who are registered emails
for each sale opening.
They 've subscribed for this, and most of them don't recieve our
emails.

We've just find that we have been added to a blocked list by APEWS
since 2007-05-30...

I control our hosting company celeonet (193.25.197.40) and they are
blacklisted since 2007-05-30 too...
But we are hosted since 2007-11-28, and i don't understand why our
blacklisting is earlier.

Is our blacklisting causes by our host ??

We have no virus or other problem, and I need your help to deblock my
IP.
Show full article (0.99Kb)
8 Comments
  Re: Where can I check to see if my IP address has been blocked?         


Author: K. A. Cannon
Date: Jan 22, 2008 07:41

beetlejuice citiconsulting.com.au> posted
s13g2000prd.googlegroups.com> in
news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting on Sun, 20 Jan 2008 20:34:45 GMT:
>I was just wondering if anybody knows of any sites where I can see if
>my employer IP or the ISP IP address has been blocked? He had a
>trojan virus, and just want to make sure that he hasn't been blocked,
>or the ISP address hasn't been blocked.
>
>We are located in Australia.
>
>Thanks in advance.

http://www.mxtoolbox.com/

--
K. A. Cannon
kcannon at insurgent dot org
(change the orgy to org to reply)

Don't worry about the world coming to an end today.
It's already tomorrow in Australia.
-Charles Schultz
Show full article (1.23Kb)
no comments
  Please help to fix problem         


Author: mariankupa
Date: Jan 22, 2008 07:01

Hello

My IP address (213.77.42.178) is on UCEPROTECT1 list but I dont know
why.
My system is SBS 2000 with all patches from Microsoft Updates.
My Exchange 2000 server has all patches. Relaying is disabled. NDR
isn't send.
rDNS is correct.
Antivirus on SBS is Symantec Antivirus with actual viruses database.
All computers on my LAN has that same antivirus.

Could You has any sugesstion why my server is classified as spam
sender ??

Please help.

Sorry for my pure english.

Best Regards

MK
Show full article (0.75Kb)
3 Comments
Your Ad Here
  Blocked from emailing dell.com and draftfcb.com         


Author: Vincent9993
Date: Jan 15, 2008 20:37

We were hit with a trojan last week that got our IP listed on a few
blacklisting services. The issue has been dealt with and all black
list reports are now clear. We still cannot email some domains,
namely dell.com and draftfcb.com

Our emails are not leaving our exchange and when I try to telnet to
these IPs I get connect failed.

Just to be clear, I can mail most of our contact, it's only specific
domains that are rejecting us.

I've contacted Dell but trying to reach an internal tech support is
very difficult.

Anyone know what blacklisting service I need to contact to be able to
email dell.com?

Thoughts...?

--
Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting
are solely the responsibility of their author. Please
read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at
http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
2 Comments
1 2