news.admin.netabuse.blocklisting
  Home FAQ Contact Sign in
news.admin.netabuse.blocklisting only
 
Advanced search
November 2007
motuwethfrsasuw
   1234 44
567891011 45
12131415161718 46
19202122232425 47
2627282930   48
2007
 Jan   Feb   Mar   Apr 
 May   Jun   Jul   Aug 
 Sep   Oct   Nov   Dec 
2008 2007    
total
news.admin ... blocklisting Profile…
RELATED GROUPS

POPULAR GROUPS

more...

 Up
  Re: IP = 208.100.3.95 AND IP 208.100.44.2         


Author: Shmuel (Seymour J.) Metz
Date: Nov 25, 2007 06:12

In <853adb5f-69bf-4322-b80a-be47276ebf48@l1g2000hsa.googlegroups.com>, on
11/23/2007
at 03:16 AM, fiangotech hotmail.com> said:
>A search revealed that both IP got listed due to activities from
>previous owner.

What previous owner? Steadfast has had it since 2006-02-17. Fiango
Technologies is *not* the owner.
>How long does it takes to be remove from the list.

There is no "the list"; there are various lists, with various policies. If
you have a question about a listing, please include the list and the
record number in your subject.
>Spam is a real problem, yes but on the same token legitimate
>providers should have a direct avenue to have their issues raised
>with those who maintain these lists.

Why? That adds to their costs.

Now, there are some lists whose operators accept comments, provide
notifications, etc., but that is because they choose to do so, not because
they are obligated to do so.
Show full article (1.46Kb)
no comments
  Re: IP = 208.100.3.95 AND IP 208.100.44.2         


Author: Zaur
Date: Nov 23, 2007 14:43

I would like to quote exactly the same issue. We've been blocked for a
while so far. We've really had a problem but it was fixed. How LONG
does it take to get delisted? Or was this filter created just to claim
money???

If so, I'll post on every single forum that this spamlist belongs to a
selfish profit organization, not like other legitimate sources....

On Nov 23, 4:16 am, fiangotech hotmail.com> wrote:
> How long does it takes to be remove from the list. I just acquired 2
> dedicated servers with IP = 208.100.3.95 AND IP 208.100.44.2. A
...
Show full article (1.83Kb)
2 Comments
  Re: IP = 208.100.3.95 AND IP 208.100.44.2         


Author: Andrew Hood
Date: Nov 23, 2007 14:39

On Fri, 23 Nov 2007 03:16:23 +0000, fiangotech wrote:
> How long does it takes to be remove from the list. I just acquired 2
> dedicated servers with IP = 208.100.3.95 AND IP 208.100.44.2. A search
> revealed that both IP got listed due to activities from...
Show full article (1.66Kb)
2 Comments
  Ping Al Iverson: Generic rDNS Testing vs. Blocklists?         


Author: Herb Oxley
Date: Nov 9, 2007 10:55

A comparison I think would be worthwhile would be to compare spam-catch
and "false positive" rates of using rDNS properties, that is a test policy
of tag or reject any SMTP sessions or email where the transmitting SMTP
peer has either missing or "generic" reverse DNS data and comparing this
to the performance of ZEN, SORBS, UCEPROTECT etc.

What I mean by "rDNS properties" are the following:
(list is probably not all-inclusive)

No rDNS at all or
rDNS contains text strings known to be assigned to address blocks
used only by "residential" cable modem and ADSL customers who generally
do not knowingly transmit SMTP direct to the recipent's mail system;
examples I can think of at the moment include:
"hsi" "res" "pool" "adsl" (without "static" or "biz" etc)
or where the rDNS contains a textual representation of the IP address.

Some might want to include "web" or other indications of a generic web
server; I think that would boost false positives because it is possble for
a Web server to be a legitimate source of email direct-to-MX (though
I and I'm sure quite a few others think this is a sub-optimal condition
given the number of web servers which get hacked or exploited).
Show full article (1.49Kb)
4 Comments
  UCEPROTECT         


Author: kmurray
Date: Nov 9, 2007 08:54

You are blocking the entire verizon dynamic ip space. I don't blame
you.
But the address space my server is on has been converted to dynamic.
72.97.114.x. I ask you to consider updating your block list.

--
Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting
are solely the responsibility of their author. Please
read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at
http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
2 Comments
  BACKSCATTERER: backup MX         


Author: BestKevin
Date: Nov 8, 2007 10:00

Good day,
my server is listed in backscatterer.org blacklist, but if I try to
send an email to an nonexistant account on it I get:
550 : Recipient address rejected: User unknown in
virtual mailbox table
that is the correct answert. So I think to be list because I'm backup
MX for some customer's domain so how to deal with the situatione where
my mail server is only a backup MX for another ? If you send email
through my server it's accepted just because it doesn't know which
email are configured in the primary mailserver.
Any hint ?

--
Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting
are solely the responsibility of their author. Please
read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at
http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
19 Comments
  bl.csma.biz/sbl.csma.biz         


Author: Al Iverson
Date: Nov 2, 2007 12:01

These "McFadden Associates" DNSBLs (bl.csma.biz/sbl.csma.biz) have
been having name server issues intermittently over the past week or
more. It's to the point where I've had to remove them from my own
lookup tools, as they slow things down.

Anybody know what the story is there? Anybody actually use these BLs?

Regards,
Al Iverson

--
Al Iverson -- http://www.aliverson.com -- Chicago, IL, USA
News, stats and more on blacklists at http://www.dnsbl.com

--
Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting
are solely the responsibility of their author. Please
read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at
http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
4 Comments