|
|
Up |
|
|
  |
|
|
  |
Author: Pete FordPete Ford
Date: Sep 19, 2008 01:48
One of my clients has a regular correspondent who is using Outlook 12 to send
him messages. These usually carry a Word doc attachment, and Outlook is being
silly about it's MIME boundaries, as expected. The upshot is, of course, that
the word doc is not readable to the client...
I know that I can, in principle, hack the source code to eliminate the error
messages for this sort of thing, but the associated risks are too great for me
to accept.
I wondered if there is an alternative: is it possible to catch incoming messages
before they pass through this format check? For example, could I make a
python-filter which might be able to scan messages for signs of RFC2045-ignorant
MIME boundaries and either fix them up, or at least copy the message to a file
so I can do some further investigation of it?
I'm a bit unsure about where things like python-filter fit into the order of
processing (as you can see...)
I suppose the alternative would be to put some kind of proxy in front of the
real mail server to do such filtering - bit of a sledgehammer/nut solution that.
Cheers
Pete
|
| Show full article (1.63Kb) |
|
| |
3 Comments |
|
  |
Author: Alessandro VeselyAlessandro Vesely
Date: Sep 18, 2008 05:43
Hi,
this morning nobody was able to access their imap mailbox. In the log
I found lots of lines like
Sep 18 13:02:22 north imapd: Maximum connection limit reached for 172.25.197.158
Sep 18 13:11:02 north imapd: Maximum connection limit reached for 172.25.197.158
Sep 18 13:11:18 north imapd: Maximum connection limit reached for 172.25.197.158
Restarting thunderbird at 172.25.197.158 produced a message
mentioning the max number of connection and inviting me to amend
the max number of cached connection. However, that was set to "2".
On the server I have MAXDAEMONS=256 and MAXPERIP=64. Netstat only
showed a couple of CLOSE_WAIT imapd connections.
imapd restart didn't cure it. However, imapd stop; imapd start did.
I still have version 0.60.0.20080720, compiled with gnutls. (Perhaps
I'll get the newer snapshot sometimes next week.) After stopping the
imapd server I found about 125 DISCONNECTED lines. At those IPs they
use outlook express, and before reaching the max number of connections
there were triplets of log lines like these:
|
| Show full article (2.08Kb) |
|
1 Comment |
|
  |
Author: niclasniclas
Date: Sep 17, 2008 20:23
I think I found a bug. Or two.
I have an account "somebody" on my system. Mails addressed to
else@ domain.com are delivered to this account, as I have set an alias:
else@ domain.com: somebody
my hosteddomains contains:
domain.com
domain.org domain.com
Now, if a mail ist sent do else@ domain.org, delivery fails:
error,relay=::xxxx,from= ,to=domain.org> (!) :
550 User domain.com> (!!!) unknown
Today I upgraded from 0.59 to 0.60. Didn't help.
Also I found that an account "somebody@example.com" will not get any
mails, at least not if "somebody" also exists, who will get those
destined for "somebody@example.com" instead. (This might not be true in
all cases, I have not checked the details as this is not my favourite
setup anyway.)
n.
|
| Show full article (1.34Kb) |
|
1 Comment |
|
  |
Author: Jerome BlionJerome Blion
Date: Sep 16, 2008 07:52
On Tue, 16 Sep 2008 17:11:29 +0400, -=Devil_InSide=-
wrote:
>
> ,------[Jerome Blion, Tue, 16 Sep 2008 14:40:33 +0200]
> |On Tue, 16 Sep 2008 16:12:06 +0400, -=Devil_InSide=-
>
> |wrote:
> |> i look in documentation and can't understand: may i filter messages
by
> |any
> |> message headers?
> |> some spam messages has one or two headers repeatly presenting in it.
> |>
> |> --
> |Hello,
> |
> |Yes, you can do it with pythonfilter quite easily.
> |In courier-pythonfilter, you can look on the way Xfilter works.
> |As these headers are often forged, I'm not sure it's a good idea to
> refuse ...
|
| Show full article (2.03Kb) |
|
no comments
|
|
  |
Author: -=Devil_InSide=--=Devil_InSide=-
Date: Sep 16, 2008 05:12
i look in documentation and can't understand: may i filter messages by any message headers?
some spam messages has one or two headers repeatly presenting in it.
--
_________
***************************************
* icq: 161874711 *
* jabber: devil_inside@jabber.ru *
* irc.starlink.ru,#Gene, Devil_InSide *
* Registered linux user #450844 *
***************************************
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
This SF.Net email is sponsored by the Moblin Your Move Developer's challenge
Build the coolest Linux based applications with Moblin SDK & win great prizes
Grand prize is a trip for two to an Open Source event anywhere in the world
http://moblin-contest.org/redirect.php?banner_id=100&url=/
_______________________________________________
courier-users mailing list
courier-users@ lists.sourceforge.net
Unsubscribe: https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/courier-users
|
| |
|
5 Comments |
|
  |
Author: emradiationemradiation
Date: Sep 15, 2008 15:17
Hi all,
since I few days I try to tell courier that it should uses a specific IP address
for outgoing smtp connections. As far as I understood it is sufficient setting
"SOURCE_ADDRESS=111.222.333.444" in /etc/courier/courierd.
Unfortunately it seems that courier ignores this value and sends on another IP
address which is also assigned to my system but not intended for this purpose.
Is there something else to do in order to get it working or to track down this
issue?
If I set "SOURCE_ADDRESS= 127.0.0.1" then I get an error message:
[courieresmtp] id=...,from= ,addr=gmail.com>: Invalid argument
Mail header information of an successfully sent e-mail with
SOURCE_ADDRESS=111.222.333.444 arrives at the moment like this:
Received: from my.specified.name (not.the.desired.fqdn [123.456.789.012])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id ...
Version of courier used: Courier 0.59.0 on Gentoo Linux
I would be very glad if somebody could help me finding a solution to this problem.
|
| Show full article (1.55Kb) |
|
1 Comment |
|
  |
Author: Vladimir PaunovicVladimir Paunovic
Date: Sep 15, 2008 12:22
I have one mail server with a lot of accoutns and one mailing list, with
~2000 mails. When mailng list is sent there is a problem with other accounts
because they all have to waint 2000 mails to be sent. How can I fix this - I
want to put this account with mailing list as low priority , and all other
accounts as high priority?
Thank you.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
This SF.Net email is sponsored by the Moblin Your Move Developer's challenge
Build the coolest Linux based applications with Moblin SDK & win great prizes
Grand prize is a trip for two to an Open Source event anywhere in the world
http://moblin-contest.org/redirect.php?banner_id=100&url=/
_______________________________________________
courier-users mailing list
courier-users@ lists.sourceforge.net
Unsubscribe: https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/courier-users
|
| |
|
1 Comment |
|
  |
Author: moussmouss
Date: Sep 13, 2008 08:10
Ray Collazo wrote:
>
> Those quotes seem to be coming from the users Outlook. The odd thing is that
> he is set up exactly like the 10 other outlook users I have, yet he seems to
> be the only one having this problem. At first I had assumed that it was the
> addresses of the people that he was messaging to, especially since almost
> every one of them were addressing users on cloaked MTAs.
>
> I'm beginning to think his outlook install might be narked up somehow...
> sadly this just means more footwork as he's in Colorado and I'm in
> California, and shipping laptops back and forth gets expensive and kills
> productivity. ugh.
>
I don't think outlook invented it. I've seen this while replying to mail
that was a reply to a reply ... and the address list (the To/Cc) passed
via multiple mail environments (lotus, exchange, ....) where each
environment had a different quoting and To/Cc rewrite conventions (or
brokerage?).
|
| Show full article (1.48Kb) |
|
no comments
|
|
  |
|
|
  |
Author: Malcolm WeirMalcolm Weir
Date: Sep 12, 2008 18:15
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Ray Collazo
> Sent: Friday, September 12, 2008 5:50 PM
[ Snip ]
> Those quotes seem to be coming from the users Outlook.
> The odd thing is that he is set up exactly like the 10 other
> outlook users I have, yet he seems to be the only one having
> this problem. At first I had assumed that it was the
> addresses of the people that he was messaging to, especially
> since almost every one of them were addressing users on cloaked MTAs.
As a matter of fact "cloaked MTAs" is a bizarre and misleading concept,
since there's no connection between the ICMP Echo Request service and
anything to do with mail, the web, or any other service. Frequently, people
decide to block pings from WANs at the router simply because they see no
value in letting strangers probe their networks. It means nothing.
Previous usage of the term in my experience has referred to something rather
different: an MTA that accepts and delivers mail for a domain, but which is
not listed in the domain's MX records.
|
| Show full article (1.94Kb) |
|
no comments
|
|
|
|
|
|
|