"Download Drivers" I think This Is Spam: Plz. Confirm
  Home FAQ Contact Sign in
alt.comp.freeware only
 
Advanced search
POPULAR GROUPS

more...

alt.comp.freeware Profile…
 Up
"Download Drivers" I think This Is Spam: Plz. Confirm         


Author: robb
Date: May 11, 2008 12:45

Hi all;
This ad is floating around the Internet:
"http:downloads.driversHQ.com" as well as "Download
Drivers.net". I believe it is abusive and spam. Please confirm my
accusation or exonerate the company. Thanks a lot!
Best!
Robb
8 Comments
Re: "Download Drivers" I think This Is Spam: Plz. Confirm         


Author: John
Date: May 11, 2008 13:00

robb wrote:
> Hi all;
> This ad is floating around the Internet:
> "http:downloads.driversHQ.com" as well as "Download
> Drivers.net". I believe it is abusive and spam. Please confirm my
> accusation or exonerate the company. Thanks a lot!
> Best!
> Robb

So, you expect us to click on a link that might be abusive or spam do you?

John.
no comments
Re: "Download Drivers" I think This Is Spam: Plz. Confirm         


Author: Brian Arthur Robertson
Date: May 11, 2008 13:48

John wrote:
> robb wrote:
>> Hi all; This ad is floating around the Internet:
>> "http:downloads.driversHQ.com" as well as "Download Drivers.net". I
>> believe it is abusive and spam. Please confirm my accusation or
>> exonerate the company. Thanks a lot! Best! Robb
>
> So, you expect us to click on a link that might be abusive or spam do
> you?
>
> John.

I also have no intention of clicking on a link that the OP is suspicious
of. That said, Google shows more than 400 results for
downloads.drivershq.com.
http://www.google.ca/search?q=drivershq.com&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla...

The top result is this whois page.
http://whois.ws/domain_information-com/drivershq.com/

I'm not sure if there is much more that can be done for the OP, without
knowing why he is accusing the company of being abusive.
Show full article (1.00Kb)
no comments
Re: "Download Drivers" I think This Is Spam: Plz. Confirm         


Author: Dave
Date: May 11, 2008 14:35

On Sun, 11 May 2008 12:45:16 -0700, robb wrote:
> Hi all;
> This ad is floating around the Internet:
> "http:downloads.driversHQ.com" as well as "Download
> Drivers.net". I believe it is abusive and spam. Please confirm my
> accusation or exonerate the company. Thanks a lot!
> Best!
> Robb

Back in March that site Download Drivers.net was offering a file,
DriverGenius_rw.exe.different size than the real
Driver Genius which is a legitimate SHAREWARE title($29.95)found at
Softpedia the file is called drvgenpro.exe. Now the same site (Download
Drivers.net) and download link gives you a file
DriverDetective.exe.,again a legitimate shareware title($29.95) and again
a different size file than Softpedia's download.
If it looks like crap and smells like crap it's probably.......

Dave
Show full article (0.94Kb)
no comments
Re: "Download Drivers" I think This Is Spam: Plz. Confirm         


Author: robb
Date: May 11, 2008 15:55

Dear John'
Wow, I hit the crap pot! Thanks!:
(1) if anyone wanted to comment, how the dickens could they if i
did not supply the url, etc? ADVISE.
(2) i entered another site, also suspect, a few months ago and
DID NOT supply the suspect url, and got a chewing for that. DAMED IF
I DO, AND CHEWED IF I DONT.
(3) It used to be that via-a-vis freeware one could ask here. If
there is a new standard: ADVISE.
Best to those with civil words and I thank you sincerely!
Robb
Oh, and why do i use capitals?: damned if i do and chewed if I
dont.
Show full article (1.03Kb)
no comments
Re: "Download Drivers" I think This Is Spam: Plz. Confirm         


Author: John
Date: May 11, 2008 16:09

robb wrote:
> Dear John'
> Wow, I hit the crap pot! Thanks!:
> (1) if anyone wanted to comment, how the dickens could they if i
> did not supply the url, etc? ADVISE.
> (2) i entered another site, also suspect, a few months ago and
> DID NOT supply the suspect url, and got a chewing for that. DAMED IF
> I DO, AND CHEWED IF I DONT.
> (3) It used to be that via-a-vis freeware one could ask here. If
> there is a new standard: ADVISE.
> Best to those with civil words and I thank you sincerely!
> Robb
> Oh, and why do i use capitals?: damned if i do and chewed if I
> dont.

Well Robb, since your post has nothing to do with Freeware, you should
have marked it OT anyway, arsehole.

John.
no comments
Re: "Download Drivers" I think This Is Spam: Plz. Confirm         


Author: John Corliss
Date: May 11, 2008 17:08

John wrote:
> robb wrote:
>> Hi all;
>> This ad is floating around the Internet:
>> "http:downloads.driversHQ.com" as well as "Download
>> Drivers.net". I believe it is abusive and spam. Please confirm my
>> accusation or exonerate the company. Thanks a lot!
>> Best!
>> Robb
>
> So, you expect us to click on a link that might be abusive or spam do you?

John, I clicked on it and here is what I got:
___________________________________________________________
403 Forbidden
Access to this resource on the server is denied! Powered By LiteSpeed
Web Server
Lite Speed Technologies is not responsible for administration and
contents of this web site!
___________________________________________________________
Show full article (1.02Kb)
no comments
Re: "Download Drivers" I think This Is Spam: Plz. Confirm         


Author: Alfred Einstein
Date: May 11, 2008 17:51

"robb" gmail.com> wrote in message
news:ec41ca70-81ee-4912-8a3d-2369fd8a9dfe@p25g2000pri.googlegroups.com...
Dear John'
Wow, I hit the crap pot! Thanks!:
(1) if anyone wanted to comment, how the dickens could they if i
did not supply the url, etc? ADVISE.
(2) i entered another site, also suspect, a few months ago and
DID NOT supply the suspect url, and got a chewing for that. DAMED IF
I DO, AND CHEWED IF I DONT.
(3) It used to be that via-a-vis freeware one could ask here. If
there is a new standard: ADVISE.

First rule of Usenet ... there are many morons out there.

Ignore them.

Do not reply to them ... just ignore them.
no comments
Re: "Download Drivers" I think This Is Spam: Plz. Confirm         


Author: robb
Date: May 11, 2008 18:28

Dear Albert Einstein;
Thanks a lot, and I got my info. FYI to everyone: the drivers
purported to be FREEWARE. Unless warned off of it, i will continue to
send in sporadic Freeware sites for advise.
Love and peace and OSS!
Robb
Show full article (1.04Kb)
no comments